Emil Petaja
Finnish North American Literature Association
Biographical Information

Emil Petaja was born in Western Montana in 1915. In his early years, he immersed
himself in reading fantasy books and exploring his surroundings. He attended the
University of Montana, but did not receive his degree; instead, he moved to Los
Angeles, where he became acquainted with some of the great mainstream writers
of his time.

In California, he wrote 14 science fiction novels and 150 short stories. He wrote in
the genres of fantasy and science fiction, detective and western fiction.



Petaja, Emil. As Dream and Shadow. San Francisco: Sisu, 1972.


---. Saga of Lost Earths. A Novel. 1966. New York: Daw Books, 1979.
Photoplay Edition. San Francisco: Sisu, 1975.
The Path Beyond the Stars. A novel. New York: Dell, 1969.
The Prism. A novel. New York: Ace Books, Inc., 1968.
The Stolen Sun. A novel. New York: Ace Books, Inc., 1967.
The Caves of Mars. A novel. New York: Ace Books, 1965.

Short Stories

---. Stardrift and Other Fantastic Flotsam. Alhambra, CA: Fantasy Publishing Co.,

This is a collection of short stories selected by Petaja himself. They represent "the
finest that Petaja has ever written in the genre over a period of thirty years." The
collection intends to represent "prime examples of his lifetime of studying,
absorbing and digesting all the great fantastic literature of the world" (dust jacket).